

May 18, 2021

Governor Brian P. Kemp Office of the Governor 206 Washington Street Suite 203, State Capitol Atlanta Georgia, 30334

Dear Governor Kemp:

As a network of physicians from across the country committed to ensuring all people are able to access the support they need to live with dignity and economic security, we write in strong opposition to Georgia's new voter suppression law, S.B. 202. This sweeping law aims to disenfranchise Georgia communities, disproportionately harming Black, Latinx, Indigenous people, Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, and other people of color.

Each of us made a commitment when we became doctors to promote the health and well-being of our patients and our communities. We have maintained this commitment over the last year as we continued caring for our patients amid the stresses of the COVID-19 pandemic, and we maintain it now as we refuse to stay silent when states like Georgia pass harmful laws suppressing voter access.

Make no mistake: voter suppression is a public health issue. Every aspect of our health is affected by the environment around us, and voting is a powerful tool allowing people to impact their environments, protect their rights, ensure the dignity of their communities, and control their bodies. S.B. 202 profoundly harms the health of Georgians by allowing state governments to usurp the power of county election boards, adding new voter ID requirements for absentee ballots, permanently reducing access to ballot drop boxes, and criminalizing the provision of food and water to voters standing in long lines. In addition, this law targets Georgians already facing the most significant barriers to accessing safe and affordable health care — Black and Brown communities, immigrants, LGBTQ+ people, people with low incomes, people with disabilities, and young people.

As physicians, we are committed to fighting for the health and well-being of our patients. Voting is an essential tool for improving public health, and voter suppression is an attack on the health of our communities. We urge Georgia to promote laws that protect, instead of destroy, every persons' right to vote safely and without discrimination.

Sincerely,

Marissa Lapedis, MD (Georgia)

Alida Gertz, MD (Georgia)



Angeline Ti, MD, MPH (Georgia)

Nisha Verma, MD (Georgia)

Thomas Jarrett, MD, PhD (Georgia)

Lindsey Fuller, MD, MPH (Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi)

Sumathi Narayana, MD, MSPH (Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi)

Leilah Zahedi-Spung, MD (Georgia, Missouri, Tennessee, Illinois, and North Carolina)

Diana N. Carvajal, MD, MPH (Maryland)

Ghazaleh Moayedi, DO, MPH (Texas)

Katherine Blumoff Greenberg, MD (New York)

Joseph Nelson, MD (Texas)

Bhavik Kumar, MD, MPH (Texas)

Susan Yussman, MD, MPH (New York)

Jasmine Patel, MD, MSc (California)

Kristyn Brandi, MD MPH (New Jersey)

Tracey Wilkinson, MD, MPH (Indiana)

Sarah McNeil, MD (California, Texas)

Sha'llah Brewton, MD (Maryland)

Martha A. Simmons, MD, FAAFP (Delaware)

Ayiti-Carmel Maharaj-Best, MD (Pennsylvania)

Neha Choubey, DO (Maryland)

Carolyn Wakeman, MD (Washington, DC)

Maya Bass MD, MA, FAAFP (Pennsylvania)

Atsuko Koyama, MD, MPH (Arizona)

Gabriela Aguilar, MD, MPH (Connecticut, New York)

Peggy Ye, MD, MPH (Washington, DC)

Stephanie Purnell, MD, MPH (Maryland)

James N. Becker, MD (Delaware)



Jenny Wang, MD (Pennsylvania)

Hayley Marcus, MD (Colorado)

Aisha Wagner, MD (California)

Roma Amin, MD (Ohio)

Mozella Williams, MD, MBA (Maryland)

Deborah Glupczynski, MD (New York)

Aleeza Wachs, CNM (Pennsylvania)

Yasaswi Kislovskiy, MD, MSc (Pennsylvania)

Sara Baird, MD (Washington)

Kimberly Remski, MD (Illinois)

Amy Lachewitz, MD (Pennsylvania)

Mariam Savabi, MD, MPH (Washington)

Stacy Beck, MD (Pennsylvania)

Jessica Friedman, MD (Maryland)

Jennifer Tang, MD (North Carolina)

Jessica Beaman, MD MPH (California)

Nicole Chaisson, MD, MPH (Minnesota)

Andrea Westby, MD (Minnesota)

LeeAnn Tanaka, DO (Pennsylvania)

Alex Harsha Bangura, MD (Minnesota)

Michaela McCuddy, MD (Minnesota)

Sarah Green, MD (Pennsylvania)

Divya Shenoy, MD MPH (California)

Kara Pacala, MD (Minnesota)

Miranda Loh, DO (New York)

Neena Qasba, MD (Massachusetts)

Christy Atkinson, MD (Minnesota)



Elliot Goodenough, MD, PhD (New Jersey, Pennsylvania)

Anonymous, MD, MPH (Illinois)

Emily Jackson, MD, MPH (California)

Rupa Natarajan, MD (Pennsylvania)

Cara Heuser, MD, MS (Utah)

David L. Eisenberg, MD, MPH, FACOG (Missouri, Illinois)

Robyn Schickler, MD (Florida)

Iman Alsaden, MD (Missouri)

Ana Garcia, DO, MS (New York, North Carolina)

Lynette Leighton, MD (California)

Kanthi Dhaduvai, MD (Florida)

Amy Addante, MD, MSCI (Illinois)

Melissa T. Nass, MD, MPH (Massachusetts)

Noah Nattell, MD, MS, FACOG (California)

Rachel B. Rapkin, MD, MPH (Florida)

Carolyn Sufrin, MD, PhD (Maryland)

Janet Jacobson, MD, JS (California)

Caitlin Weber, MD, MS, IBCLC, FAAFP (New York)

Jenny Abrams, MD (Washington)

Kohar Der Simonian, MD (Maine)

Christopher M. Estes, MD, MPH (Florida)

Autumn Davidson, MD, MS (Oregon)

Colton Wasserman, MD (New York)

Angela Janis, MD, DFAPA (Wisconsin)

Katharine Sznajder, MD, MPH (Washington, DC, Maryland)

M. Kathryn McClellan, MD (North Carolina)

Anonymous, MD (Rhode Island)



Eve Zaritsky, MD (California)

Jennifer Exo, DO (Minnesota)

Diana Wu, MD (New Hampshire)

Robin Wallace, MD, MAS (North Carolina)

Hilary Rosenstein, MD (Pennsylvania)

Alexandra Houck, MD (Massachusetts)

Johana Oviedo, MD, MPH (New York)

Ashlee Bergin, MD, MPH (Kentucky)

Mae Winchester, MD (Kansas)

Jiana Menendez, MD, MPH (New York)

Andrés Turner, MD (California)

Carley Zeal, MD, MPH, FACOG (Wisconsin)

Michelle Nichols, MD (Texas)

Greg dePrisco, MD (Texas)

Amy Collins, MD (Pennsylvania)

Lisa Masinter, MD, MPH, MS (Illinois)

Shannon L. Carr, MD, MSc (Maine)

Lin-Fan Wang, MD (Pennsylvania)

Halley Crissman, MD, MPH (Michigan)

Rachna Vanjani, MD (California)

Elise Berlan, MD, MPH (Ohio)

Andrea V. Jackson, MD, MAS (California)

Patricia Castaneda-Davis, MD, MBA (California)

Montida Fleming, MD (Texas, California, New York, Washington)

Matthew Zerden, MD, MPH, FACOG (North Carolina)

Miriam L. Salazar, MD (California)

Constance Liu, MD, PhD (New Mexico)



David M. Marshall, MD, MPH (Minnesota)